Outfit Breakdown 1

Introducing the first in my new series Outfit Breakdown, where we take an in-depth look at select outfits.

1 - rmSu7jU

  • Jacket: Strike Gold SGJ50S
  • Shirt: Flat Head HNW-61W Western Flannel
  • Pants: 3Sixteen CH-44x
  • Socks: Chup Vuokatti
  • Shoes: Red Wing 8112

Although I’ve never hesitated to wear double denim, the recent addition of these 3Sixteen chinos has the benefit of enabling me to immediately create a ton of new outfits, since most of my shirts and jackets will coordinate nicely with these pants. I also have these pants in olive, but only a handful of my other clothing works with them, so they’re a bit limiting.

3 - YHRkvSW

The pants and shoes give this outfit a strong autumnal vibe, as you can see above. The 3Sixteen chinos are cuffed to give the leg some structure, and the 7.25″ hem is perfect for boots like this.

This color of Red Wing’s Iron Ranger boot was never sold in the US, only Europe and Japan. I bought my pair when I was living in Japan, in summer 2011. I think this Oro-iginal color has the best patina of any Red Wing leather, and I’m quite happy with how they’ve aged. I just added a new pair of flat waxed laces to these boots, which match the leather well and give the boot a touch of sophistication.

6 - mkarPdA

Meanwhile, the Chup socks offer some pleasing contrast to break up the earth colors of the boots and chinos. But with orange stripes, they’re not totally out of place, either.

4 - FPbTnu5

The afternoon light really makes the rich, candy green of the Flat Head flannel pop out. It combines nicely with the Strike Gold jacket, too. I found that wearing these tops with the chinos really emphasizes the green and indigo, which go together quite naturally. When I wear this shirt and jacket with jeans, it’s less noticeable.

5 - 38Dx6BV

The chinos are just the right shade of tan – not too light, not too dark. Nobody is going to mistake them for washed-out Dockers dad pants from Kohl’s. They take a bit of the edge off of the outfit, an effect that makes this outfit naturally more refined in comparison to a double denim version of the same thing.

2 - HyvNnPI

Autumn has hung on for a surprisingly long time in the Southeast US, providing a nice backdrop for this outfit. It’s always been my favorite time of year, so I’m thankful for that.

Although an outfit like this would look good any time, it feels especially at home in the fall. And even though the leaves are almost gone, I expect I’ll have a few more fall-inspired looks to share before we’re firmly in winter territory.

Author: rocktransformed

Kyle has been an enthusiast of Japanese-inspired casual fashion for over a decade. He previously lived in Japan and worked for Flat Head.

Leave a comment